File:Flag of Wales 2.svgWales is the second smallest country within the United Kingdom, with an area of 8,022 square miles (20,779 km2) and a population of over 3 million.

The country makes up a small part of the island of Great Britain, and is bordered by England in the east (Cheshire, Shropshire, Herefordshire and Gloucestershire) and the Irish Sea to the west.

Welsh name: Cymru.

Capital and largest city: Cardiff (Caerdydd).

Cities: 6, as of 2013.

Principal Areas: 22.

Official languages: Welsh, English.

Patron saint and day: Saint David, 1st of March.

Click here to see the location of Wales within the British Isles. You can find out all the places we have been in Wales by following the drop down menu. You can either look by Historic County if you are a fan of the Historic County Boundaries of Wales and abolished counties such as Radnorshire, or if you are more familiar with the present day Administrative Counties which includes counties like Gwynedd and Cardiff then use that tab instead.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s