Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland is the smallest country within the United Kingdom, with an area of 5,345 square miles (13,843 km2) and a population of nearly 2 million.

The country is situated in the north-east of the island of Ireland, and is bordered by the Republic of Ireland to the west and south, the Irish Sea to the east and the Atlantic Ocean to the north.

Northern Ireland was created in 1920 in the Partition of Ireland. This was a division of the island of Ireland into two seperate territories, Northern Ireland and Southern Ireland (which is now the Republic of).

Irish name: Tuaisceart Éireann

Capital and largest city: Belfast.

Cities: 5, as of 2013.

Districts: 26.

Official languages: English, Irish, Ulster Scots.

Patron saint and day: Saint Patrick, 17th of March.

Click here to see the location of Northern Ireland within the British Isles.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s